St Thomas More Catholic Church

Coralville, North Liberty and Iowa City

Letter from Cheryl Campion, St. Thomas More Office Manager

Posted by duncanjudy on April 16, 2013

In July 1990 I received a phone call from my friend Father Bob Busher. He was pastor at St. Patrick’s, IC, having left St. Thomas More a year prior. Fr. B. said Fr. Hitch and STM were looking for someone to replace Irene Baxter, who was retiring after 12 years. I met with Father Hitch and the rest is history. In June I will finish my 23rd and final year as your office manager.
What a great job this has been. Fr. Hitch and Fr. Wally have made the time fly by – two great bosses! I have seen many changes over the years. We bought our first computer in late 1990 and my days of composing the bulletin on a typewriter were behind me. The biggest change would have to be leaving the old location. I loved that old frat house and all the headaches that came with it.
My personal life brought changes as well. I married my long-time friend, Bear. He spent countless hours over the years on “honey-do” lists for me at STM. One of my favorites was the installation of a hand rail in the stairwell at the old Parish Center so Maxine and Louise could still stop in for a visit and attend their Bible study. Fr. Hitch officiated at my mom’s funeral in 1997. The large plant outside my office door is from her funeral. Please see that it continues to flourish – it loves that spot Jake – my grandson, is now a freshman in college and he welcomed a brother, Dylan in 2009. I plan to spend more time with them (hope Jake isn’t reading this or he will run like the wind!). Along with more grey hair, age is bringing a desire to see old friends and new places. Bear hopes to retire this December so we want to camp more and catch up on home projects.
My plan is to welcome Father Page in June, help train my replacement and use some of my vacation days. My last day will be July 31.
I have met many wonderful people at STM, some have become like family. I also gained life-long friends I get to take with me when I leave! Thank you for the opportunity to work for and with you. I will truly miss my days at St. Thomas More.
Cheryl

One Response to “Letter from Cheryl Campion, St. Thomas More Office Manager”

  1. Cecilia Roudabush said

    Thank you for everything, Cheryl! You make our parish function!! I have so appreciated working with you and appreciate your patience with bulletin announcements galore…Happy, happy retirement.

    Cecilia

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

